Gaston County

Gaston County, North Carolina Biographies

Biographical Sketches of Western North Carolina Illustrating Principally the Revolutionary Period of Mecklenburg, Rowan, Lincoln and Adjoining Counties of Burke, Cabarrus, Cleaveland, Gaston, Iredell, and Wilkes. The biographies have been extracted from this manuscript and presented here as part of our larger biographies collection. As with most historical manuscripts, these biographies should provide a glimpse into the genealogy of the leading men and the occasional women of the western North Carolina area. Biographical Sketch of Captain Samuel Caldwell Biography of Rev. Humphrey Hunter

Gaston County, North Carolina Biographies Read More »

Gaston County, North Carolina Genealogy and History

Gaston county was formed in 1846, from Lincoln county, and derives its name from William Gaston, one of the most distinguished men of North Carolina, and late one of the Judges of the Supreme Court. In the language of one who knew him well (the late Chief Justice Ruffin) “he was a great Judge, and a good man.” Its capital, Dallas, is named in honor of the Hon. George M. Dallas, Vice-President of the United States in 1844. The territory embraced in this county, contained many true and gallant Whigs during the Revolutionary war. Sketches of some of these will

Gaston County, North Carolina Genealogy and History Read More »

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top